Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what can be done to reduce it?

People movement from the village to the towns for a long periode is called an urbanisation in sociology term, and this phenomenon caused the cities resident getting densed denied denser and the other social problems. In this essay, I will outline the impetus behind it and the most viable solution. There are several reasons inducing the resident of village move to city. Cities promise much more jobs compared to the countryside, whereby in the village they have limited jobs with the main livelihood are livestock and agriculture, whereas in the town they will able to get various subsistence with higher income, for example working in factory, selling food and beverage, and opening business in small enterprise. Moreover, they want get a better quality life through higher education because school and university quality in city mostly much more better in the countryside. On the other hand, cities provide various entertainment that cannot be found in the village so they want explore city to enjoy themselves. These motive lead to urbanisation rate in Indonesia accounted for 13,2%. However, this trend sometimes causes many problems in the city. First, the town population become overcrowded due to people accumulation from various regions which leads to congestion and water scarcity because of overuse. Second, if they are not equipping themselves with the skills, experiences and expertises needed to sustain their life, they will become unemployed and increase the poverty rate in the city, and sometimes they commit criminal acts to obtain money for their survival. Finally, city environment will be dirtier since more products are used in the town. To overcome this problem, government need to take action to alleviate urbanisastion. Facilitating new factory permits is crucial because they will use more labour from the local resident so they will choose to work in their nearby. Then, stipulating ceiling price for meats, eggs, rice and other commodity will make villagers much more prosperous. The last one, improvement in education quality in countryside will be beneficial for the long term, along with construction of infrastructure. In conclusion, minimising the gap quality of education and infrastructure between the countryside and cities and stipulating policy making villagers more prosperous are viable solutions in the long-term to decrease urbanisation and various social problem in the town.