In some contries, prison is seen as the solution to crime. However, some people believe that giving people a better education is a better way to prevent them committing crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with those ideas?

Criminality is a chronic problem in many parts of the world and one feasible solution is imprisonment. Others argue that the alternative way is by providing a good education which can be beneficial and I completely agree with this notion. To begin with, education is a practical tool for human awareness and sensitivity. It is important to remember that values formation is mostly taught in a school setting where students learn how to follow rules and regulations as constituted by the academe. In effect, children being equipped with the right morals and conduct which are essential qualities of a good citizen in becoming a part of a wider society will unlikely be juvenile delinquents. In the long run, many countries suffer from a significant number of violations done by adolescents. Finally, there is a vast agreement among experts who qualifies the main reasons behind the high numbers of lawbreakers. These are poverty and deprivation of basic human rights. In order that an individual will have a better and bigger chance to get a well-paid and decent job, and to live a sustainable life enjoying basic human rights offered by the government at large, one needs to be somehow educated. As an example, Andorra which records the highest literacy in 2023 happens to have the lowest crime rate as well. This explains that a country with a high literacy rate will eventually have decreased rate of criminality and consequently improve the country's economy and progress. To summarize, although it is vital that lawbreakers be imprisoned and suffer the consequences of their criminal acts behind bars, education among prisoners must also be quantified as a permanent solution. It is a powerful and preventive tool for incurring violations,especially among youth and adolescents. It may also add to the country's economic status through individual employment and as a result, people will enjoy basic human rights.