some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. do you agree or disagree?

Education has played a significant role in promoting the understanding and skills of individuals from primary school to university. Some people argue that students tend to spend excessive amounts of time learning about the truth instead of gaining practical skills. I personally agree with this view for the following reasons. On the one hand, it is an undoubted fact that schools put more emphasis on academic knowledge than useful skills with the increasing of new subjects embedded into school curriculums. For example, it has become compulsory for students to enrol in both biology and physics in Japan while they used to take either of them in the past. In other words, there is growing pressure from the government to acquire more knowledge so the young are better prepared for changing demands of modern society. On the other hand, in spite of the rising pressure to learn facts in schools, there is an increasing awareness of the importance of practical skills. In addition to the conventional learning styles to focus on knowledge, schools demand students should gain convenient skills such as computer and language skills. Furthermore, students today are promoted to learn more interactively through working in groups and presentations to improve their communication skills which are essential in all aspects of life. In fact, these changes reflect in the evaluation as students are not only graded through written exams but also their output performance plays an essential role. In conclusion, there are increasing demands to gain academic information today. However, students have more opportunities to gain useful skills to adapt to a more complicated and rapidly changing society.