Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, some people think that playing games can have a negative impact on players whereas others find games entertaining or even educational. While there are a number of benefits that games bring us, I would argue that they are indeed detrimental in many aspects. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that video games are beneficial. One of the reasons is that playing games can help people enhance interpersonal skills. For instance, there are many multiplayer games that require players to cooperate with each other to achieve goals so that people can improve their communication as well as teamwork skills. Another reason is that some games are being widely used as a tool to support teachers. To be more specific, since most children prefer playing games rather than studying, bringing games into the lesson can attract their attention and make it more entertaining. On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that there are many undeniable drawbacks of video games. Firstly, youngsters who play these digital games are very easy to be addicted to them. When spending most of their time playing games, they would gradually lose interest in studying and might perform poorly at school. In addition, players could be faced with a number of health problems related to vision owing to playing video games. Particularly, the blue light from the computer screen is especially harmful to the eyes so staring too much at the screen can step by step make them short-sighted. In conclusion, despite several advantages that video games bring to players, it seems to me that they are far more outweighed by the potential problems.