Some people think that printed books no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electronically. Other think that printed books still important roles. Discuss both views

Many people have the belief that hard copies of books have lost value in this technological era as we are now able to store them electronically, while others have the view that their roles are still essential. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why printed books are still crucial and also why it is now easy to store them on digital gadgets. The importance of printed material has many advantages. Firstly, paper-based books have the capacity to last for more than one generation and can be used by many people if they are handled with care. For example, most novels have been written many decades ago and are still being used by our children nowadays. Apart from that, its main benefit is that someone does not need any extra electronic equipment to read it, unlike soft copies which can only be accessible on computers or phones. Printing costs are the only charges involved for someone to have access to it and it has been proven to be relatively cheaper when compared to soft material. In contrast, the advent of technology has brought many benefits to humankind, including also the way we can access materials electronically such as books. For instance, most University students nowadays no longer spend time in libraries reading hard copies, but rather they choose to read everything on their laptops or tablets in the comfort of their homes. Books and learning materials can be easily converted into pdf format and uploaded on University platforms. Although another challenge with soft copies of books is that you definitely need electronic appliances in order to access them, resulting in an expensive way of reading. Even if you can get a cheaper gardget, the individual needs a source of power to charge it in order to be usable. In conclusion, printed work will remain important to many people regardless of technology which makes it possible to avoid printing expenses also the advert of electronic material has brought many positives to people.