Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The effects of television on children have been always an issue for decades. Some people believe that they can learn better when using televisions which must be used when there are at school or in the house. However, I completely disagree with the statement because of the negative impact on a child's school performance and it might cause a setback in child development. Television should not be encouraged because it causes a decrease in the academic performance of children. Unfortunately, most of the media today are not as educational as those shows in the past since the values and vision of networks have already shifted. Entertainment programs however have evolved as they become the major past-time of people seeking a way to relax from their problems which is not bad in some ways. For example, the network companies in the Philippines are now populated with drama-romance shows that target pre-teens and teenagers in which many of them have increasingly distracted and have no concentration on their studies. Furthermore, excessive exposure to television could have caused developmental delays especially, in young children. These could have been avoided if they are not exposed early instead parents must provide their children with other activities that will greatly improve their speaking and communication skills. For instance, there are cases in that parents used bright colourful shows as a companion for their young children then when they have reached certain age the child does not know how to speak and communicate. In conclusion, I completely disagree that television shows should be encouraged because they negatively impact the academic performance of students and could lead to developmental delays in children.