Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing concern that social networking is contributing to shorter attention spans. While some argue that digital media platforms are to blame for this phenomenon. I completely agree with this notion and will be supporting my stand with pertinent arguments in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, social media plays a vital role in one’s life. Firstly, digital media makes people want to browse it indefinitely, which depletes their focus as well as their mental capacity. To demonstrate, social platforms such as Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Tiktok are designed in a way that can provide a constant influx of information that suits their interest. People scroll the reels or videos mindlessly for long hours until they are tired or mentally overloaded. Hence, they won’t be able to concentrate on doing anything else. Apart from this, there are several reasons contributing to a shorter attention span. Nowadays, people of all age groups use social media constantly. They spend most of their time on posts, and short videos rather than doing physical activities. Subsequently, individuals lose little joy and pleasure in their life. They do not find happiness in anything. Multiple studies have found a strong link between social media and an increased risk for depression, anxiety, loneliness and suicidal thoughts. As a result, some people argue that social media is harmful to brain development,especially for the youth. In conclusion, I strongly support the view that social media makes attention spans shorter because it causes mental overload to users after long usage and attracts them with instant information which spoils their capacity to solve complicated data in the long run.