Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal while some people believe that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of politicians prioritising economic output. On one hand, there are those who argue that economic advances are pivotal to a country and its population's well-being. However, critics, including myself, strongly oppose this view and instead believe that other sectors, such as healthcare, are more vital/crucial/essential to a country’s development. To begin with, there is an argument to be made that economic growth is central to a country’s overall development and overall quality of life. For example, the higher the GDP of a country, the greater the social impact it has on the population, leading to more companies being able to hire additional staff and rising salaries. For this reason, it is evident that a strong economy equates to consumers spending more on goods and services, which ultimately leads to them being happier with their lives. What is more, without a booming economy, the government is unable to fund other sectors, such as education or transportation services. This being the case, it can be assumed that if economic output is weak, this would be detrimental to society as a whole. Nonetheless, it must be stated that investing in healthcare reaps more rewards to society than economic strength. For instance, the US has the strongest economy in the world, yet 50,000 of its citizens entered personal bankruptcy due to medical debt in the last year alone. Therefore, it is clear that a bustling economy does not necessarily help everyone in society, which is why it is of the utmost importance to ensure proper funding to other social sectors. Furthermore, a failing healthcare system debilitates the overall economy, as there are often fewer employees in the workforce to drive the economy forward. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if a government does not prioritise the healthcare system, both the population and economic status of the aforementioned nation will suffer. To conclude, whilst some are under the impression that economic progress leads to higher standards of living, others, myself included, firmly believe that other sectors, especially healthcare, hold more value. From my perspective, investing in healthcare provides more benefits to a country’s growth than focusing on economic gains, as without it a nation’s economy could stagnate.