It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks is crucial in one’s professional and personal life. Although, there are pros and cons in taking risks, I think that the advantages are adequate to outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will discuss about the advantages and disadvantages of taking risks. Firstly, taking risks is important in one’s personal and professional development. By taking chances people will know their abilities and skills and will thrive to improve. It will open new avenues for hidden talents such as creativity and will open new opportunities which can be identified as a huge advantage for an individual’s professional life. Not only that, but it would also motivate you to get better and look at life at a positive angle. Therefore, I believe it’s safe to say that taking risks would increase one’s confidence and boost their self-esteem as this would make their lives more interesting. In professional life, this could lead up to promotions as well. On the other hand, it should be noted that there are some disadvantages of taking risks. Disappointment and embarrassment would be a huge drawback of taking chances. Especially in professional live, this could be costly as people could lose their jobs. Moreover, if not succeeded, people could lose hope and stop trying for new opportunities and new roads. Not only that, but health risks that comes due to failure cannot be disregarded. Taking a risk in personal life also can cause mental health issues such as stress and anxiety which can also lead to self-blame or worst, self-harm. To sum up my writing, even though there are potential drawbacks of taking risks in personal and professional lives, it can be argued that the skills, confidence, and personal growth that can be gained by taking risks outweigh the downside of trying new pathways. Risk taking is what drives people for success and development.