Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this decade, the job satisfaction of young people has become a controversial issue among modern societies. Many people today find their own progress in independent work rather than working for a company. Undoubtedly, there are several factors behind this and correspondingly, there are some drawbacks to self-employment. This essay will discuss some reasons why self-employment has occurred and examine the disadvantages of this issue. To begin with, many experts are of the opinion that one of the main causes of self-employment lies in the fact that most people, especially the youth, are looking for more freedom and authority to act in their field of activity. In general, it can be said that most employees have to follow their manager's decisions instead of setting their own goals. On the other hand, self-employees have the opportunity to implement their own creative ideas in order to make development in their career which means that feeling more in control. This generally could result in those people who work on their own feeling more pleased in their job. It should be noted that, in this regard, a number of studies have been conducted on the relationship between the type of people's employment and their job satisfaction and the results revealed that people who work individually are almost twice as satisfied with their jobs than other people. Not only that but also financial incentives can be considered another important factor behind self-employment. More precisely, people, in any field, have the chance to make more profits if their business become successful. For instance, if someone set up his own structural design company and earns a good reputation after a while, he will be able to make substantial profits. Accordingly, the youth prefer to run their own business to fulfil their occupational aims through making recognition as successful managers. Turning to the other side, self-employment can also bring negative results as well. This is because working independently is a risky challenge. It requires a significant amount of economic resources and wise decisions in order of being in the right direction as in some cases just one mistake could result in wasting total capital. In addition, independent work can make it difficult for a person to recognize the right path from the wrong one while working with a highly respected team always offers a great opportunity to broaden the horizons which can contribute to career advancement in their entire life. To sum up, there are several causes for and at the same time some disadvantages to self-employment. while it is evident that liberty of action in conjunction with monetary goals are the main reasons for self-employment, some negative aspects such as the possibility of losing financial resources and choosing the wrong path in sensitive situations can not be ignored.