Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has taken control of almost everything around us. Therefore, it has led to adverse effects on communication and language prowess considering the elevated usage of gadgets. Analysing I completely agree that using computers and mobile phones to communicate has caused damage to the reading and writing abilities of youngsters. Firstly, most smartphones have an autocorrect feature in them which means that if we type wrong spellings, it can correct it without letting the user know. Taking this into account, iPhones have Smart Keyboards which will even give suggestions if only the first two alphabets are typed for the entire word. Certainly, it hinders the learning pattern of youth as they become more dependent on such features despite gaining knowledge of the words. As a result, it has negatively affected the dictionary in young ones. Secondly, every bit of information is available online nowadays which eventually means that children do not need to memorise as data is just one click away. For example, even if one has to write a letter, all the formats are readily provided by different websites, unlike, the earlier times when people used to learn various formats and handwritten paper had its own significance. Consequently, it limits their knowledge and language capabilities as they do not need to keep things in their brains. Hence, reading and writing skills are getting poorer. In conclusion, even though there are heaps of benefits of desktops and mobiles, it do lack on hindering the pattern of learning by providing all the language information readily available. Clearly, students do not need to memorise spelling and learn various writing skills which could limit their future performance.