Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

All around the globe, office durations and working days are usually the same which eventually helps the nation to gain economic growth. However, the working schedule often leads to fewer social meetings mainly because of the work stress and less time to meet friends and family. Analysing that I completely agree with this notion. Firstly, the average working life is extremely long and tiring which gives no space for the employees to socialise. Certainly, the majority of the portion of weekdays is spent in the office, even if, it is 8 hours in most cases, other part of the day is usually wasted on either commuting or preparing to work the next day. In Toronto, many workers drive for at least 180 minutes to go back and forth to their workplaces. As a result, they get exhausted while on the weekend, and other necessary house chores are performed. Therefore, the entire week is either busy doing office work or staying at home which disables the humans to go outside the cycle and meet others. Secondly, every job creates certain pressure to perform well, likewise, people find it so hard to overcome the burden. Consequently, they find leisure time as a great hour to unwind. For example, teachers of high schools usually complain about the stress to check exam sheets on their period off instead of enjoying that moment with family. The working cycle is designed in a way that employees cannot break it and they have to keep taking the tension in order to make money. Hence, humans do not get any day to meet friends or party with others. In conclusion, the companies have made the schedules in a certain way which is just beneficial for them as it does not allow the workers to socialise. Moreover, it is mainly because of exhaustion and strain from the jobs that imbalances the work-life balance.