Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, some people thought that in order to decrease road accident, we should give fines and punishments to inattentive drivers while others believed that there are useful methods for safe driving. From my point of view, imposing sentence is definitely beneficial along with additional measures To begin with, careless drivers who ignore traffic law are major contributor to traffic accident. To put it another way, they use mobile phones, while driving, which will restrict their attention to roads, signs and pedestrians, moreover, they exceed speed, as a consequence, when something happen, they can't manage problems. For this reason, court has to charge certain amount of money, suspension of drivers's license or even prison sentence. The aim of these punishment is to show drivers that their actions have negative consequences, as a result, they will avoid making similar mistakes again. On the other hand, I believe that there are another ways to prevent accidents. To be exact, proper training and educating program for people, who are trying to obtain driver license for the first time, will reduce count of reckless chauffeurs in the future. In the second place, more attention could be paid in road safety. For instance, placing traffic signs, road bumps and bends, security camera and speedometer will support safety. Lastly, the government should improve and increase public transportation systems, as a result there is low number of drivers in roads. In conclusion, while punishment can help to prevent bad driving, I believe that there is other ways to promote safe driving.