Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Disagree

Since the entire world is moving towards globalization which created huge competition among industries. It is being discussed that an increase in the number of working hours is directly proportionate to the financial growth of the nation. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and this essay will elaborate on the same in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. To commence with, people are already exhausted with normal working hours routine because of extra commuting time due to traffic. If employees are asked to spend extra time in the daily workforce would directly impact their health and slowly decrease their productivity and performance in the future. To be precise, devoting extra time generates unwanted pressure and stress on worker's health and that could impact them in the long term by reducing their output which will automatically down the economy too. For example, extensive research conducted by the Times of India revealed that several companies in India where employees are forced to work overtime have reduced productivity. Hence, this phenomenon has negative consequences towards economic growth. In addition, to strengthening my original point, additional production hours generate several unwanted diseases which have numerous side effects on the health of employees. Nowadays, due to the wanted commitment from customers, the organization's management emphasises workers to enhance productivity in regards to delivering the project as per the timeline. Putting extra workload brings various kinds of chronic diseases in their lifetime. Needless to say, unhealthy citizens directly or indirectly limit the growth perspective of the country. To exemplify, Russia has a great number of skilled people but at least one of the five working professionals is suffering from a chronic disease such as diabetes or high blood pressure. To conclude, working more than the usual hours does not contribute to the nation's economic growth, because it has many negative consequences on the employee's productivity and health which automatically reduces the nation's capital in the long run.