Many people say that human society has developed into a “throw-away” society, which is filled with plastic bags and rubbish. What are the causes and solutions?

Climate change is one of the leading factors that society is worried about today. A majority of the members argue that because individuals, are heavily inclined to use and throw habit, which results in the landfill of plastic and non-recyclable materials. This essay elaborates on the significant reasons and possible solutions for that. On the one hand, there are many reasons due to which the culture of use and throw is prevailing. Firstly, individuals are working extended hours to earn enough money to combat inflation. In addition,few are even doing two jobs to make odd ends meet. Because of this, people adapt to ready-to-eat food items that are sold in disposable plastic packages and bottles. This results in landfill, those plastic materials or waste are non-recyclable and they don't decompose at all. To quote an example, single- use plastic bags take 20 years to break down. Secondly, with rampant industrialisation and a greedy attitude to make huge profits, companies started selling products in bite-size packets. To cite an example, single- use shampoo sachets are prevalent in developing countries in India. As a result of this, a lot of non-recyclable waste materials are collected heavily over the last few decades. On the other hand, there exists a multitude of solutions to fix these drawbacks - individuals and government should equally participate and fix it. To begin with, changes should happen within the members of the society, families and friends should encourage to take the stretch to prepare the meals ahead. For example, In the countries like UK, people use to prepare food in batches and freeze it with labels. This habit, would result in forming a healthy habit. Moreover, the participation from the government is much needed, in terms of levying extra taxes on companies, which would collect a separate stream of revenue for fixing the environmental damage caused by the production methods. Furthermore, stricter regulations and guidelines are to be enacted and enforced for green methods of production and disbursal. To conclude, due to modern living the habit of one-time use and throw is on the rise, but there are solutions to address this, individuals should mindfully cultivate healthier habits, go green in their activities, and,equally government should also play a major part of in terms of imposing regulations and taxes.