Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the current world, there is a rising number of individuals who seek out the cure for their health problems by using traditional medicines and treatments instead of trusting the doctors. While alternative medicine has benefits, it also has drawbacks. The following paragraphs will examine whether the use of alternative medicines is a positive or negative development. Firstly, the effectiveness of using traditional health treatments has not been proven. It refers to the fact that the approach has not been scientifically tested. For example, there is a belief in my country that consuming Fatima grass, a dried root of a particular plant, will help a woman cure her stomachache while giving birth and help her quickly deliver a baby. There is no fixed guideline about the proportion of grass, so this method sometimes works but sometimes fails, leading to bleeding or, even worse, death. Therefore, due to its unverified results, using traditional medicines is a negative thing for health. On the other hand, traditional medicines are believed to be safer than fabricated medicines. It relates to the fact that the traditional ones consist of natural resources, while the others consist of chemical ingredients. For example, when we get dizzy because of hypertension, instead of taking a pile, we can eat cucumber. This vegetable will lower our blood pressure. This approach is safer because studies tell us that a significant amount of chemicals in our blood will badly impact our health in the future. Thus, using traditional solutions is a positive way to cure health problems. In conclusion, while alternative medicines have drawbacks because of their unverified results, they are undoubtedly safer methods due to their ingredients. It is important to find balance, leveraging the benefits of traditional treatments while addressing their drawbacks.