Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The number of people trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their regular doctor has increased over the past several years. It has become a topic for a debate whether it is a positive or a negative development due to the growing number of people. While there are advantages of following alternative treatment methods, I firmly believe that this has a negative impact on people ’s health. I will discuss my opinion in the following essay. One of the major drawbacks of turning towards alternative medicinal treatments is that there is a possibility that it could worsen the health condition. Based on my own experience, one of my grandmothers tried herbal medicine for her heart condition, which made her condition worse. And a considerable effect of this is that it could make it harder for their usual doctor to treat them again once they have gone off their regular medication regime. Moreover, usage of alternative medicines might trigger other health problems such as allergies as they might include different substances. Also, it is known that some herbal medicine can treat one health condition but at the same time it could increase another health condition. As a result, people could end up with multiple comorbidities which can increase the cost of treatment. Another negative impact of using unconventional drug is that it could react with Western medications. It is evident that components in natural medicines could potentially react with ingredients of Western medicines which can lower their effects and efficiency. This could lead to prolonged illnesses and other adverse effects such as people being resistant to certain medications that they might need regularly. Furthermore, sometimes people are unaware of the ingredients in natural medicine which can result in serious conditions. Therefore, it is important to always research before taking alternative medicine and treatment. To conclude my essay, I reiterate that even though, natural medicine and treatment might have some good effects, people still need to see their family physician regularly for medical conditions. Even if they want to try alternatives, they must first consult their doctor and discuss the benefits and the disadvantages of them.