Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth.

While some individuals believe that governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, others argue that this is a waste of public money when there are so many issues on Earth. I partially agree with the latter suggestion because looking for life on other planets might make it possible for individuals to inhabit other planets during mankind's extinction periods. However, space exploration is expensive and that capital can be used to solve global issues such as poverty, gender quality and climate change. To begin with, humans have undergone a massive evolution that has enabled them to use natural resources for their betterment. However, with careless use of technology, humans have consumed a significant proportion of these fossil fuels and in the near future, fossil fuels are predicted to deplete by 2050. In the following case, space exploration can enable individuals to migrate to a different planet with an abundance of resources to survive. Additionally, spending capital to look for life on other planets also enhances our understanding of science and allows scientists to figure out different techniques to carry out already existing processes with greater efficiency. On the contrary, looking for life only serves as a hope for mankind to survive during their extinction periods and it is also possible that humans will never be able to migrate to a different planet. Due to the following notion, people argue that the government should use the money to fix problems on the Earth. These public funds can be used to enhance international relations between countries to bring global peace by bringing a stop to war and nationwide crimes. Moreover, funds can be used to tackle environmental problems such as global warming and the greenhouse effect. Solutions to these would prevent glaciers from melting ultimately, preventing coastal cities from sinking as no additional water enters the oceans, thereby maintaining sea level. In conclusion, I believe that space exploration is more essential as the Earth would eventually run of out coal and other non-renewable sources of energy that currently power most everyday applications. As these resources deplete, exploring alternatives is becoming more crucial and prevalent.