People should be at least 21 years old before they are allowed to drive a car. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many road accidents are caused by reckless driving especially by the youth under 21 years of age. Should the age at which you can drive a vehicle be increased in order to ensure road safety? In my view, although I accept that there would be fewer road accidents, increasing the age limit to drive a car is not fair to older teenagers. The primary reason is that, in today's world, driving has become vital for managing day-to-day activities conveniently. Most young adults are driving for various reasons, such as, to get to work, to pick up groceries, to drive their younger siblings around, etc. For instance, due to the high-paced life of employed parents, they rely on their older kids to drop their younger ones to school and thus, save their time and energy. If the government imposes a law that people under 21 years of age cannot drive, it would cause many youngsters to protest against it as driving is a necessary skill. Furthermore, many university students use their personal cars to get to their colleges. Students who live far away will suffer greatly as they will be solely dependent on public transport or someone over 21 years of age to take them to their classes timely every day. In countries, such as India, where public transport is not very reliable, it is advisable to ride your own car to reach far-away places. Thus, perfecting the driving skills of an individual should be the main concern of traffic police rather than the age limit. Even though the probability of road casualties will be low if the age requirement rises, it would not eliminate it completely. Therefore, the age requirement is not as important of a criterion for preventing road accidents. As long as young adults understand the responsibility that comes with driving and are capable of driving a car, along with comprehensive knowledge of traffic rules, there is no justified reason to prevent them from driving. Additionally, a society where kids become independent early in their lives tends to flourish more in comparison to those that restrict and restrain them from their basic rights. To conclude, age criteria should not be the main concern of the government. Letting people drive at the legal age of 16 gives them a sense of independence and allows them to expand their horizons. As a result, I strongly advocate that the age at which it is legal to drive should not rise because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages by far.