Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss these two views and give your opinion.

Some individuals say that increasing the number of sports facilities is the best way to make public health better, however, there is another group of people who think that this would not make so much of a difference in public health and that other measures are required and I totally agree with this statement. I believe that in order to improve public health not only sports facilities should increase but also assure health services for everyone. On the one hand, certain people say that if there will be more sports facilities it is the greatest way to improve public health. A lot of people do not make use of sports facilities due to the fact that they are far away from their neighbourhood and they do not have enough money to pay for them. For example, one of the most popular gyms in the Netherlands is Basic Fit and the price per month is over 30 euros for full abonnement. It is quite expensive and it is mostly located in the city centre, which is why many people do not even attend to go there. That is why is so convenient to open more gyms in more areas for different prices beca use it will increase the number of people doing sports activities and will improve their health. However, there are others who think that increasing the amount of sports centres would not help so much and people need to also improve other areas in order to make public health better. In my opinion, making health services available for everyone is way more important than the number of sports facilities. For instance, insurance is really expensive which is why not everyone can get the help they need. If there will be more available health centres it would make much more of a difference because people could get professional help and get the medicine that they need. It does not make a lot of sense if people will just go to the gym but will not be able help from the doctors and actually see what is their problems. To conclude, although opening more sports places will have a positive effect on public health due to the increasing number of people who will make use of these facilities, it is definitely more crucial to provide health care for everybody because people will get help from professionals and they will be aware of the issues that they need to fix.