In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than ever before. Why is this happening? What could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In modern times, the consumption of sugar-based drinks is becoming prevalent at an alarming rate, thereby harming public health in relation to weight and other aspects of well-being. This essay will detail the potential causes, along with possible solutions to curb this trend. To begin with, one of the dominant aetiologies is the attractive marketing and advertisement strategies used by the companies producing such products. For example, in today’s world, industries promote their products using the faces of famous celebrities, which ultimately attracts many adolescents and teenagers, resulting in a prolific increase in the consumption of these beverages. Additionally, another point to consider is the busy schedule of individuals, which compels them to choose food that is conveniently available, particularly fast food and soft drinks, therefore leading to deleterious health consequences. On the contrary, in order to alleviate this problem, it is highly imperative to undertake some preventive measures. For example, firstly, the government should increase the costs of soft drinks. Secondly, providing nutrition education via awareness campaigns and seminars to the citizens residing in the society will surely yield positive outcomes. Furthermore, using mass media, the food choices of communities must be altered and modified. They should be encouraged to choose nutrient-dense sources to avoid long-term medical complications and conditions. To recapitulate, it is clearly evident that these types of beverages evoke numerous dreadful repercussions in terms of health. However, through the combined efforts of individuals and authorities, this conundrum can be dealt with ease with the passage of time.