Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give tour own opinion.

It is a belief of some that for the betterment of research, business and the academic world, it is a good move to share personal data while others believe that certain information holds risk when being shared so openly. In this essay, firstly I will discuss the initial view and after that the other and eventually, wrap it up at the end with my own opinion. In the current digital age, there is a lot of data that can be accessed freely and with permission which can be utilized for a particular goal and that can be in the field of education, business and science. This can help all the mentioned three areas to progress further and help them accomplish their goals and can create an overall great impact on society. For example, companies like 23&me can collect patient data and provide the genetic risk score and also the overall health score to drive individuals towards a better future by making them aware and can help to design better public health policies. Contrary to the benefits, there are also some downsides to it and they can range from selling the personal information of the population without their permission for some monetary gains by a particular organization which is a breach of privacy and limited information is available to the general public about the use of that data. For example, a company like Facebook was called out for selling customer's valuable information to other third parties and also collecting some of the sensitive content of the user without asking them which was used for their own agenda. In conclusion, I do believe that driving the change requires reference points which can be used to optimise the current system so it's beneficial to collect them but more stringent policies should be kept in place to protect a being before proceeding on such a terrain.