Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

It can be seen that roads nowadays are being used by both cycles and cars and this development has a range of detrimental effects. This essay will argue some biggest problems of this development as well as suggest some solutions. First of all, there are two major drawbacks to this trend. One main reason is, cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads leads to an increase in accidents because of a significant difference between the operation of a auto and that of a bicycle. A car driver for example, would not be able to have a clear observation when he drives next to a bicycle because of its small size. Furthermore, traffic jam occurs more frequently on a road with mixed means of transport. The higher density of a number of transports as well as the different limitations of speed are two major factors. For instance, a car driving behind a bicycle will not be able to run at its normal speed and if this happens during rush hour, it will justbe a matter of time before the road became stuck. There are two solutions, which are simple to be done and can still solve the problems above. Firstly, a specific lane for each kind of transport should be added on every road State and local authorities should work together in that they do not have to build a whole new path for cyclists or drivers, instead they just split the existing road. Secondly, to avoid traffic jams the government can limit different transport on the road at a particular period of the day. This idea has been done in many big cities such as: Tokyo, Hanoi, and Bangkok, in which bigger cars more than 7 places will not be allowed to join some major thoroughfares at rush hours. In conclusion, this development has some really serious problems that not just affect the drivers themselves but also other aspects such as the higher emission because of traffic jams. Therefore, actions should be taken promptly to minimise these negative consequences.