Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people think that instead of state authorities, private enterprises should be in charge of scientific experiments. This essay disagrees with this point of view. On the one hand, there are two benefits when research on sciences belongs to a private association. Firstly, this could help reduce the government’s expenses because the state authorities will no longer have to spend expenditure on this field once it is in private companies’ hands. Expenses being used for this purpose could be spent on other social aspects such as improving local transport or extending green places. In addition, in some cases, people might have to pay less taxes given the cut down on the government’s budget. Secondly, privately owned scientific research can lead to better experimental results. The reason behind this development is, the major companies want to maximize their profit and in order to achieve this goal, the products must stand out in comparison with their competitors. Therefore, more intense investment in research will occur. On the other hand, I believe that scientific research should be under the authorities’ control because of two reasons. The main reason is, the development described in the previous paragraph has a detrimental effect on human lives. Research carried out by the government are served as public good with the first priority being the improvement of people ’s lives. Therefore, they will be easily accessible to most people. By contrast, if the products were owned by the companies, some people would not be able to afford them because of their financial situation. Furthermore, scientific research as a private good result in less information, knowledge and experiences exchanged between scientists because of the concurrent among companies. As a result, the research ’s efficiency may decrease. In conclusion, although private enterprise can bring some benefits to the sciences, I think this field would be better controlled by the government.