Parents are encouraging their children to spend an increasing amount of time on tablets and screens because they think it will improve their technological skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The availability of tablets a mobile phones means that even very young children can have access to these devices. While there are obvious benefits to this, there are significant dangers as well. In this,essay I will argue that, so long as children are educated to use these devices properly, their benefits outweigh their drawbacks. We must accept that devices such as these are a part of our lives now, and will undoubtedly remain so. Therefore, to deny access to them would be to deprive a young person of the benefits that they provide. The skills required to use a device effectively, such as searching for information, word processing, design skills and communication, are all essential parts of both study and work. A child who has missed out on opportunities to develop technological skills will be at a disadvantage in the job market and struggle to succeed in education. Having said this, there are risks involved in allowing young children to use phones and tablets. They may neglect other more traditional skills such as writing by hand and focusing on a source of information for a sufficient time. Digital devices encourage rapid switching from one source of information to another and, as a result, the attention spans of young people appear to have reduced. In addition, phones and tablets are full of potential distractions, which could obviously interfere with the purpose for which they are being used. In conclusion, I would say that so long as these devices are used properly and children are trained in their use, the benefits they bring far outweigh the drawbacks.