Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In this day and age, it is believed/argued by some that an individual who has fallen foul of the law will always have no changes in their behaviour. Although this can be true to a certain extent, I am firmly convinced that if criminals have opportunities to make positive contributions, they will become useful citizens. On the one hand, there are some reasons to argue that ex-prisoner may commit unlawful acts again after punishment. The first reason for this is that their family may not accept them after they finish their prison sentence. This is mainly because they are afraid of negative judgements from people around them. Thus, it is easy for these former criminals to relapse into crimes. The second reason for this is that these people are likely to fail to make ends meet after being set free. This is maybe because they do not meet the requirements for jobs. This may make them return to their criminal path to generate income. On the other hand, I personally believe that criminals still have a lot of reasons to turn their life around. To begin with, they may feel full of regret after their detrimental activities. The time they spend in prison may help them realize their unlawful acts and their impacts. Thus, they may want to change and do more positive activities to get peace of mind. In addition, some ex-offenders committed crimes unintendedly. Therefore, after serving a prison sentence, they will become more careful and aware so that they do not have to experience it again. For instance, in Vietnam, there are cases in which people have to go to prison because of accidents that they cannot control. In conclusion, although some ex-prisoners still do illegal activities after getting out of prison, I personally think that the changes in criminals’ behaviour are more likely because of many reasons.