Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a growing concern that young people use smart devices for many hours a day. In my opinion, it would definitely return the negative effects if offspring play on mobile phones without any control measures. There are a number of reasons why children spend most of their time on mobile devices. To begin with, current society encourages high-school students more using it in their life. For example, during the Covid-19 situation, it was inevitable that most schools provided online classes for their students. All classes must be studied via digital platforms including those used for searching for information, contacting their classmates and even submitting their homework. Secondly, it is one of the intelligent tools for improving young people’s skills, for instance, language applications can be installed on children’s smartphones. To do this, the foreign language can be practised by students anywhere or anytime. Finally, smartphones can be virtual playgrounds or recreation sites. Many young generations can meet and play together at any favourite place they desired. For instance, the interactive videogame is very popular among schoolboys they can take action and talk about the game while they stay at their home. However, these are the success of the digital advancement of smart devices, in which there is a range of mobile functions supporting their life in all aspects. However, it can be recognized that there are a variety of bad effects on juveniles. One of the most noticeable concerns is about physical health, for example, many schoolboys have become short eyesight since they were young ages, and they have to wear eyeglasses all the time. Another concern is about social health, for instance, many young ages have become introverts. They prefer staying alone at home, lacking interaction with other family members. Thus, parents would be mainly key factors to monitor and regulate their children using mobile, in particular time-consuming, such as Parents should determine the time limitation and punishment in order to avoid uncontrollable consequences. In conclusion, even though using mobile phones has many positive impacts, I believe that children would get the worse or negative effects if there is no supervision and effective measures from their parents to constrain mobile phone use.