Some companies sponsor sports and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think that there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporaneous era, organizations tend to hire sports celebrities for the advertisement of their brands. There is a set of people who consider it to be a positive development, while there are those who think otherwise. I personally, however, withstand the latter notion. This essay will examine both viewpoints in detail along with my personal opinion. Commencing with the salient reason that why firms prefer to endorse their brands through cricketers and other sports celebrities is due to an escalation in sales volume. To exemplify, audiences get inclined towards the brand immediately after they see a prominent face endorsing the product. For instance, when Nike started it was unable to get more revenue, however after they hired Cristiano Ronaldo as a brand ambassador, their volume of sales boosted. Despite the given arguments, others contemplate that using of prominent sportsman's names by organisations in order to advertise their products is detrimental to the public. The prominent reason is that at times the quality of products is compromised which can have a disastrous impact on the health of humans. For example, a recent article published by Harvard University revealed that 60% of the world’s population is having obesity and other health issues because big organizational names use sports celebrities even to endorse inferior quality products. Hence, the usage of sports icons to advertise the brand should be discouraged. Furthermore, I believe that companies also use dangerous sports as well as celebrities in order to attract youth to purchase their products which is extremely dangerous for youngsters because they tend to imitate their favourite stars. To conclude, although there are advantages associated with using famous public figures as brand ambassadors, nevertheless according to my perspective the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits.