In some cultures, the parents arrange marriages for their children but in others, children choose their marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Fixed marriage is a popular Chinese tradition. Some parents choose to let their children marry whom they want to tie the knot with. There are both pros and cons to both marriage options. First of all, one of the advantages of parents deciding who will become their future in-law is that they already know the values and family background of the person whom their child will be marrying. However, there is also a disadvantage of having a fixed marriage. It is disappointing for a daughter to know that she will wed someone she does not even know or love, which may lead to divorce. For instance, it is common for a Chinese woman to be partnered with a wealthy businessman chosen by her parents. After their wedding, if their love did not work out, it may lead to a failed married life. Living under one roof without affection for each other will be more likely to go wrong. On the other hand, letting young people decide who they will marry has also many benefits. It is better to consider the couple's feelings for each other before letting them become husband and wife. It will help the wedded pair to give importance to the idea of holy matrimony and unlikely to become a broken family. A strong foundation of relationships may be formed before eloping. There are many famous celebrities who rejected their parents ' arranged marriages, but they are happier and more successful compared to those who married not according to their own choices. However, there are also drawbacks to disagreeing to let the parents choose a partner. Teenagers may pick the wrong spouse if they are being careless and stubborn with their decisions in their lives. In some cases, youngsters need their parents ' opinions before eloping their partners, because they tend to make a wrong preference. In conclusion, it is very important for parents to support their children to choose someone they want to tie the knot with, instead of arranging them for a fixed marriage.