In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students' abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students' abilities? Do you think that benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Since the time education was introduced, formal exams have been a preferred method to quantify students ' knowledge and their ability to retain information. Whether they should be used as the only tool to thoroughly understand a pupil's academic capabilities is a matter of serious debate. In this essay, I will outline the pros and cons of using formal tests to evaluate a student's performance as well as give my point of view on why the positives surpass the negatives by far. Formal examinations are undeniably a great medium to check students ' growth and understanding of a subject. The subjects that are introduced in schools hold a high value as they are the building blocks of a child's mind in a particular arena; thus, examining children on the basics of any subject is imperative to see where they stand. All the students attending the same classes, for instance, should sit for a standardized exam to assess their progress. Moreover, this would also help them to check their ranking in the class. There have been instances where a student who did not perform well in a formal exam had the best knowledge about that subject. The stress of an examination hall and the way such exams are conducted gets to them and they do not do well under pressure. I scored low in biology, for instance, albeit it is my favourite subject due to lack of time and slow handwriting. Thousands of students sit under the same circumstances where most of them underperform and are unable to secure good scores despite their comprehensive understanding of that topic. To conclude, formal exams are a great tool. I am in favour of them but they should not be used as the only criteria for assessing a student's level of understanding.