instead of requiring primary school students to do experiments themselves, schools should only alllow them to watch experiments demonstrated by teachers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

nstead of requiring primary school students to do experiments themselves, schools should only alllow them to watch experiments demonstrated by teachers. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Some educators feel that for students to learn effectively they must do experiments themselves, rather than simple observing their teachers. In my opinion, this sentiment has its limits, but in general pupils would benefit more from such a hands-on approach. Detractors argue that it is more efficient to watch a teacher perform an experiment in front of the class. Throughout the course of the academic year, in classes such as chemistry, biology and physics, teachers will have to cover dozens of topics and highlight numerous theorems. The teacher may perform experiments in order to illustrate concepts when applicable. If students conduct these exercises instead, it would mean less time to go over other areas and would necessitate reducing the size of the curriculum. Their learning may achieve greater depth but the breadth would be abridged. Nonetheless, performing an experiment oneself promotes greater understanding. Take for example a chemistry class. Students are only likely to remember the end result if the teacher explains the formula for a chemical reaction, selects the ingredients themselves and then mixes and highlights the process. In contrast, if the students must identify, measure and carefully follow steps on their own, they will commit this information more deeply to memory. Their later analysis will further reinforce a more complex understanding of the forces at play in a given experiment. Recent pedagogical research supports the contention that the physicality of performing is a powerful aid to memory and the key to long-term retention. In conclusion, though there are legitimate reasons to not apply this rule without nuance, it is important that students generally be given the opportunity to carry out experiments on their own. What students internalize will be naturally more memorable.