In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. It is undeniable that after graduated from secondary school, many adolescents are advised to take a gap year for working or travelling before beginning to study at university. This essay will elaborate on both advantages and disadvantages of taking a 1- year gap. To begin with, one of the main advantages of taking a gap year is the opportunity to explore and gain work experience. For pupils who have just finished secondary school, working or travelling allows them to learn more skills and knowledge which can not be acquired through the educational system. As a result, these experiences lead to the decision on their university major. Furthermore, due to the social inequality in some nations, certain families may struggle to afford university fees. Therefore, working can provide a solution by allowing students to earn money and assist their parents with the expenses. Despite these advantages, taking a gap year can also have drawbacks. These days job markets are very competitive, therefore those children who taken a gap year may miss out on valuable job opportunities with top companies during that time. Moreover, if some students do not utilize their time in a beneficial way, such as spending excessive time playing video games, or sleeping, they will totally loss 1- year time without acquiring any experiences or money. In conclusion, taking a break from studies can be an adventurous and beneficial choice if it allows children to learn, gain experiences, and accumulate saving. However, it is crucial for students to ensure that they spend 1 year time beneficially. This will help them maximize the benefits of the gap year experience.