In many countries today, there are people living in poverty. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the modern era, there are plenty of poverty -stricken people,especially in developing nations. This is mainly due to uncontrolled population growth and increasing wealth disparity between the rich and the poor. In this essay, I will discuss why poverty exists and practical ways to tackle this dire situation. People living under the poverty line are suffering for many years now. One of the reasons is the poor regulation of the population. With the exponential increase in the number of citizens, the government is unable to fulfil everyone's basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and healthcare which in turn put less fortunate people on footpaths as they are unable to find means to support themselves and their families. Another reason for poverty is the unequal distribution of a nation's wealth. During the COVID pandemic, it was very visible that the rich got richer and the poor got poorer because of a lack of relief supplies from the government in many countries, such as India and Pakistan. To alleviate this problem, the government should ensure equal distribution of a country's profit and provide for the people who cannot afford it. In the UK, healthcare is free, for instance, as the government charges hefty taxes from wealthy citizens and thus, provides good equality service to everyone. This will lead to people with low to no income, some relief. Furthermore, the issue of poverty cannot be dealt with solely by the ruling party. Those who are fortunate in terms of wealth should use it to help the citizens of their country by building schools that provide free education, providing more job opportunities and donating their wealth to NGOs so they are able to use it for the betterment of the people in desperate need. To conclude, poverty has been there since the dawn of time; however, with joint efforts from the government and affluent,individuals it can be reduced and possibly eliminated.