Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present day, transportations are much faster and cheaper than before. Versatile imported foods from various nations all over the world are sold and replaced the foods which originated by locals in many supermarkets. This essay will explain how the positive sides so outweighs the drawbacks. To begin with, versatile foods which are sold in department stores increase consumer's choices for selecting based on their preferences. Furthermore, eating foreign nation foods also assist in cultural exchanges between countries as culture is expressed by their living through foods. For instance, Winter in Korea is very cold therefore, Korean people cook Bimbimbab which is served in a hot bowl to keep warming. Moreover, some nations’ foods also support food allergic people, while the local is unable to perform. For example, my friend who is gluten allergic used to buy products from Europe and the United States as local foods has no gluten-avoiding products. Despite these advantages, concentrates on importing foods also have a drawback. This is because the domestic income is decreased due to the number of local products sold are declined. As a result, when the demands are dropped, then the supply are reduced as well which affects the overall revenues of certain families especially farmers or agricultures who play main roles in producing local goods which leads to the economic and poverty issues of the nation. In conclusion, food importing can be adventurous and beneficial if the number of imported goods is balanced with the number of local foods sold in the markets. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.