Technology has impacted on the way people interact. These days, many people created and maintained through technologies such as mobile phones and the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using technology to establish and develop relationships?

Nowadays, people are tending to create and maintain relationships online due to the development of technologies such as mobile phones and the internet. Besides, various applications are coming up to meet the public's needs on their sociable behaviour. Generally speaking, both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon are worth noticing. Apparently, online connections are easier for most people so that they can start to build friendships with less effort like dressing up, which is probably the most obvious benefit. Furthermore, the internet gives people, especially the younger generation, more opportunities to expand their friends' circle with the same hobby, even if they are in different corners of the world. For instance, I was born in an inland city and most people around me don't like water, therefore, as a passionate diver, I am forced to communicate with other distant divers online through Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. In a word, technologies grant us access to getting connected with a wider world and this is irreplaceable as far as I'm concerned. On the other hand, maintaining relationships through applications seems limited in some scenarios. Take romantic relationships as an example. Offline dates are necessary before two people actually get involved in a serious relationship. After all, connections have multiple layers including verbal communication, physical touching, and perhaps eye contact which cannot be achieved by any online interaction. Alternatively, keeping close to the family requires talking to each other in person as well because families are usually not satisfied with mental and spiritual exchange but overall sharing and engagement. As a result, interactions through electronic devices cause the absence of body language and physical communication, and it is definitely not enough for close and lasting connections. Eventually, methods of interacting invented by new technologies fulfil what most people want for simple and casual communications. However, it lacks magic power when it comes to deeper and more formal relationships.