Some people believe that Arts (such as painting and music) do not improves people’s life and, therefore, government should not spent money on it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments in many regions nowadays invest a tidy sum in art activities, including music festivals and different types of exhibitions, while some opponents argue that such events could only benefit the minority, I strongly agree that authorities should financially support arts due to various positive effects derived from such activities. On the one hand, the arguments suggest that participants of events as such are mostly well-educated and rich, in which governments should not provide subsidies which could only benefit those with privilege. For example, in Thailand there are many art activities in the city, in contrast, a great number of residents in the countryside are struggling under the poverty line. Instead of trading in a large amount of money for art events, local authorities should put more effort to improve people's life qualities. On the other hand, I tend to agree that there are more advantages derived from the spring-up of art activities. First of all, the younger generations are able to inherit their traditional culture by visiting local museums, where they could learn about the life of their ancestors in the old time. For example, in a small town in the Netherlands, there is a local museum displaying photos from hundred years ago, which indicates the distinction between the appearance of modern residents. Secondly, it also improves the exchange of information between nations and expands the horizons of residents. Such as the annual Jazz music festivals in Taichung, Taiwan, in which the local government will invite oversea performers to display different types of music for audiences to know the latest trend. To summarise, it is true that art events could be costly and could only benefit a small number of people, in which that money could foster better good in public with other usages. However, I agree that arts are essential for young individuals to learn about their past and explore the possibilities of the future.