Nowadays most people read books online and there is decline in number of people reading paperback books. What are the advantages and disadvantages

Books are an integral part of humans that can be utilized to gain knowledge and to pass it on to someone. In current times, there is a spike in the number of people who prefer reading online rather than paperback. In this essay, I will talk first about the advantages and at last about the disadvantages. Firstly, in terms of accessibility, the online medium can reach easily to masses and in turn that is beneficial for books to gain popularity in a short span of time. For example, many hit the records of bestsellers or get internationally recognized very swiftly. It is a huge boon for the writers as it can help to provide them leverage which can increase their sales. So it is true that the digital age is creating a new revolution today. On the other side, there are also downsides to it which can include piracy issues and also the culture of the library slowly losing its grip. For example, statistics clearly represent the rise of illegal downloads and additionally, surveys show less preference for visits by an individual to a place to access the material. It affects the publishing house in terms of profit and royalty earned by the author. Ending this discussion, it is also a fact that each benefit comes with its lingering side effects. In conclusion, there are two sides to a coin and in this case, both play a role in the exchange of information. Reading can expand the mind and give a new lens of seeing the world but as discussed by all the above points, there are two dimensions to it.