It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of risk-taking is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. The majority of people are in favour of this statement due to its plethora of merits. However, some highlight its demerits first. In my upcoming paragraphs advantages and disadvantages of the aforementioned issue will be elaborated on. Initiating the best possible benefits, the most significant advantage is the opportunity to expose oneself to discoveries and to reveal new, possibly better, ways of living one’s life, which in turn may ameliorate its quality. Along with it, the courage to jeopardise someone’s business affairs quite often results in the enhancement of one’s performance or in the desirable promotion and colleagues’ approval. To cite an example, a recent remake of The Little Mermaid with Halle Bailey starring was a highly risky attempt, which produced quite a bitter controversy all over the world. However, the result is an unprecedented success and extreme popularity with virtually both all children and adults. On the paradoxical side, there are many drawbacks as well. First and foremost, both personal and professional risks usually endanger the most precious values such as one’s life, status, wealth, family and future prospects. For instance, a compulsive investment in a company, that is a far cry from being a “blue chip” may have a detrimental effect on someone’s funds or deteriorate another company’s reputation. Secondly, risk-taking in the majority of cases activates a potential succession of such risks. Consequently, one may find it beyond the bounds of possibility to escape such a lifestyle, which makes life unbearable and devastating. In conclusion to the above stated, neither pros nor cons of the issue in question can be neglected. It is a mixed bag of positives and negatives and, in my opinion, should not be underestimated.