People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day, as a result of the advancement of technology, there are many different varieties of ways how people can spend their spare time. Nonetheless, I strongly agree that it is almost much better for people to read rather than watch TV for mainly two causes. Firstly, reading gives the reader a good opportunity to control time, which could be an important factor in initiating the imagination. When one individual reads a story or novel, it has the ability to stop reading any time it wants and this pause almost gives the reader a great chance to think and imagine. For example, during reading readers can imagine themselves as the story's main character and create a little story. Consequently, this lets humans initiate new stories with different characters and different backgrounds and this stimulates imagination and creativity. Although I acknowledge that TV programmes provide live characters and different pictures with amazing colours, which might definitely encourage imagery, I still believe that TV channels do not let people have enough time to think about what they watch while the show is continuous. Secondly going through stores of different genres allows your mind to indulge in different thoughts. Moreover, newspapers and articles keep your vocabulary engaged as they often have new words in their section. For instance, when you read a newspaper article, you are bound to learn and expand your knowledge when compared to a television series. If you are focused on learning then picking up a book is the right way to go about it. To sum up, not only does reading give people enough time to imagine but also it helps them share and create. Therefore, although TV programs have amazing animation and real characters, I wholeheartedly agree that spending spare time reading is the best method to initiate imagination.