Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money- making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an argument if tourism can damage the culture and tradition of a nation or it is beneficial for the economic situation of a country and even can strengthen people's values and culture. From my point of view, governments should do their best to attract tourists to their country, since the tourist industry can have a positive impact on other industries. To commence with, the opponents of tourism believe that the history and tradition of the country could be overshadowed by globalization. In other words, tourists could affect the values of people and could lead to dilution of the cultural significance. For instance, in my home country, Iran, authorities do not support tourism, because they are afraid that Iranians will forget Islamic values due to cultural exchange with the visitors and the traditions will lose their authenticity and sincerity. On the other hand, the proponents of the tourist industry deem tourism not only can improve the economic situation of a country,but also it can provide a safe platform for exchanging culture, respect and traditions. For example, tourists from developed countries can be a good sample for youngsters, since they separate their waste and also increase their digital literacy. Needless to mention, tourism can provide enough money to support some cultural infrastructures. To illustrate more, the government can use the generated money from the tourism industry to encourage artisans and artists to improve cultural production. In a nutshell, although tourism can dilute local tradition, it can have more positive impact on economic situation and culture of the country.