The obesity rates among teenagers have increased dramatically in many developed countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

Looking at the recent number of obesity among teenagers, especially in developed countries, has been very concerning. A lot of supporting factors that make this possibly occur such as lacking awareness of healthy lifestyle, massive advertising of fast food and high sugar food products that can cause obesity as well as cultural perception in some countries that 'big is beautiful' that somehow incorrectly preached, though it can boost teenagers confidence. Lacking awareness of healthy lifestyles and massive advertising of high-sugar products might be actually interconnected. With the tight competition among fast-moving consumer goods, many companies, specializing in food and beverage, consistently bombard our society to keep purchasing their goods. Bombarding society with massive advertising may not be wrong, but conveying the advertisement without a disclaimer that their products may contain high sugar can be definitely dangerous. Research shows that an unhealthy lifestyle usually starts from high consumption of sugar products and worse can cause addiction to our body. Meanwhile, cultural perception also plays a role. We should understand that everyone is different yet beautiful no matter your colour, race, sex, body size and etc. However, speaking of body size, society also should change their perception that being big, which is often associated with obesity, is not always beautiful if the person consistently consumes high-sugar food without balancing with vegetable consumption, physical exercise, and other healthy lifestyles. There are some possible solutions that may contribute to decreasing obesity rates. First, the government as a policymaker should encourage or even require all companies to also insert a disclaimer in the advertisement that consuming the products may cause obesity in the long run when it is consumed consistently. Just like cigarette products for adult consumers, I believe the government has successfully applied a great regulation to decrease the consumption of it. In order to change the cultural perception, definitely takes a longer time than the first one, it can start from school to educate teenagers about what matters is not body size, but what matter is about having a healthy lifestyle. It is okay to be big as long as you have a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, the awareness of healthy lifestyles among teenagers should be significantly improved.