Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Is this a negative or positive development?

It has become increasingly common for movies to be made by independent producers in place of large-scale filmmakers. While this development brings numerous demerits, I firmly believe they are outweighed by certain merits. This essay will explain how by focusing on … Two of the downsides of independent movies that can be taken into consideration are copyright infringement issues and potentially low-quality movies. Firstly, low-budget films tend to use copyrighted materials without permission. This can include music, images, and other creative works that are protected by copyright law, leading to legal issues if the copyright owners decide to take legal action against the filmmaker. Another disadvantage worth investigating is these movies can be of low quality. Since minor filmmakers cannot have access to high-tech studios, some have to embrace the idea of using lower-tech film products or even their gadgets to produce these films, which may result in lower-quality products. On the other hand, I think that independent films can have advantageous aspects, including exploring hidden talents in the film industry and the ability to express themselves freely. The first point that needs to be mentioned here is that these films help other high-profile film companies to find prospects in the industry. As not having a chance to appear on the big screen instantly, most of these unearthed talents would have to create their opportunities by singlehandedly producing or acting in their films. As a result, the ones who can showcase their ability are likely to be sought after by credible large-scale filmmakers. Secondly, it can create a competitive market that forces major film labels to work harder to produce high-quality movies. Even though this is not common, independent films that do well on the big screen can be seen as rivals by big film companies. For fear of losing credits, these companies have to work harder by recruiting more talented prospects and producing high-budget films, leading to a more competitive film market, In conclusion, I strongly advocate that the upsides of independent films overshadow their negative aspects by exploring undiscovered talents and creating competitiveness for the film industry.