People living in the twenty-first century are happier than people of previous times. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered by most individuals that live in the twenty-first century to be stress-free and they are happier than the humans of previous times. Although in this modern era, people have advanced technology which makes their work easier than in previous times, I would argue that individuals of previous centuries were more healthy, happy and lived in stress-free environments. To commence with, the individuals who think that they are happier than their elders are because of the technological developments that made their daily chores easier and they have less burden of work these days. To explain, the advancements in the transit system had made it easy to cover long distances. Nowadays, people in rural areas can use buses to go to the market for the completion of their day-to-day work. For instance, the Government of India built long roads, connecting villages to cities as well as provided several bus routes so that people can easily travel from one place to another to complete their daily chores. In this way, the developed technology of the twenty-first century is proving great to live happy and burden-free life. However, I believe that the people of old times were happier than that of the present, had no stress and lived a simple life with their families. As in previous times, technology was not much advanced like there was no internet and limited mobile phones. On the contrary, they were not able to get much information about the happenings around the globe. Hence, no competition with others of living luxury life. To exemplify, a study by the famous writer Amrita Shah showed that people of previous centuries, having no internet and rare mobile phones tended to live in joint families and believe to spend more time with each other, were happier than those who are living in this advanced era. In conclusion, while it is believed that the advanced technology of the twenty-first century is proving more beneficial for making the life of human beings easier and happier, I would say that the people of previous centuries who lived a simple life without having any competition with others for a better life were happier.