Some people think that technological development can reduce crime, while others think that it would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over the affection of increasing in technology to the crime proportion. While some claim that it is an effective way to decline the number of criminals, the opposite makes a statement that the advancement in technology can lead to higher offenses activities. Even though the latter is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, the improvement of technology helps the government to enhance the safety of its citizens, as the authorities can easier to detect and prevent indecent behaviors. For example, the Korean government provides a sophisticated video surveillance system in public places and offices so that the police can operate more effectively, and at the same time make criminals afraid of being caught, thus reducing wrongdoing. Hence, technological development can bring about a great impact on decreasing offenders. While the redeeming feature of advanced technology in minimizing crime rate is widely acknowledged, its downsides still exist. As a useful tool, cybercriminals can take advantage of technology to make stealing personal information easier. For instance, Cybercrime can use AI technology and the Internet to intimidate voices or impersonate victims to blackmail their beloved families. Thus, unlawful activities can be encouraged by the great development of technology. In conclusion, newer technology is indeed beneficial to reduce the wealth of criminals. However, it still has downsides, so the government should apply this advanced technology reasonably and people need to be educated to use it in a careful way.