Nowadays more and more people are using smartphones and computers to communicate, so they are losing the ability to communicate with each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

One of the most worrying trends appears to be toward computerised interactions with people due to the inventions and innovations that arise from technological evolution. Some consider that gadgets such as smartphones and tablets have brought a negative impact on our communication abilities. Therefore, I agree with this notion to a large extent. On the one hand, online communication tools pose a strain on the capability of face-to-face interactions with others in real life. Nowadays, technology has become an indispensable part of our lives many utilize various functions and features on their smart gadgets to perform daily operations. For instance, it is not uncommon to see commuters on public transport such as buses and trains, flipping through social media platforms or chatting with their friends online that they ignore their companies who stand just right beside them. People are too engaged in online entertainment that they neglect the feelings of their friends when they have little communication on the way to their destination and instead surf the Internet for more interesting prospects. Consequently, too much concentration on social media platforms online may result in the negative development of friendships with others when they are too emerged in the virtual world. On the other hand, online communications yield significant benefits in bringing communities together through the online world and promoting effective communicational deliveries among individuals. Globalized interaction allows people to converse with others from all walks of life from different cultural backgrounds, and therefore expand their knowledge. For instance, the provision of a wide range of online contact tools facilitates the public to have meaningful conversations with people from different nations and increases their prospects about certain cultures. Moreover, users can always switch on their microphones to talk with others, which is of much value as we do in a conventional manner. As a result, virtual conversations with individuals from different backgrounds allow individuals to engage in multinational interconnectivity with people and expand their interpersonal skills, which can be used effectively in real-life interactions. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that mobiles and computers may probably cause the downfall in society’s interpersonal conversation, but this is by no means that society could deny the advantages those smart devices bring to our life in terms of interactive relations.