Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Obesity is a real problem which is spreading more and more among children in those years. This topic is extremely important and many common situations contribute to the diffusion of this these conditions, however, some little changes can limit the phenomenon. The major reason for overweight is diet; in fact, many children introduce an exaggerated amount of calories daily. Moreover, they do not eat vegetables and fruits rich in terms of minerals and vitamins because they do not love the taste. This behaviour is due to the habit of eating food that is chemically treated to become tastier than how naturally should be. Some examples are the fast food chains - such as McDonald and Starbucks - which products are not healthy at all. Their meals are usually fried, and rich in salt and fats. On the other side, the way children of this generation play has changed drastically recently: they stay many hours playing video games instead of going outside and playing with their friends. The fight against this dramatic phenomenon must be the main goal of schools and families. Schools can organize projects in order to give information about the best diet to families, the correct amount of calories and some nice technique to cook vegetables or present fruits to their sons and daughters. In this way, parents can know perfectly the best approach to have with their child to convince them and change their lifestyle. Students should be well informed about the problem coming from excess weight such as cardiovascular disease or diabetes. All this requires government support: it can start a campaign to reduce the obesity rate. To summarize, even if it is an extremely diffused phenomenon, obesity can be eliminated from our society. Every country needs a strong and healthy generation because I strongly believe that in healthy bodies there are healthy minds.