It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Asian parents are often criticised for using corporal punishment against their children. I personally believe that education through pain compliance is unhealthy. I will explain my reasons in the following essay and I recommend a thorough approach to the consideration of the best methodology in respect of behaviour control. To commence, physical punishment can cause detrimental effects on children. When analyzing homicide-related documentaries, it is not surprising to find that most criminals were the victims of domestic violence in their previous life. Many criminals suffer from behavioural issues and to some extent copy the violent behaviour of their extended family and peers. That is to say, the approval of physical punishment invites further violence. Although corporal punishment seems efficient, the way of education eliminates the opportunity for self-reviewing. For instance, if parents enforce homework as a compulsory task for their kids, they might never learn about the consequences of not doing it. Once they leave the control of their parents, they might indulge themselves in video games inevitably as they never know the cost of abandoning their schoolwork. The most effective way of punishment that parents can use to rule their children is to let them fail when they need to thus learning from their mistakes. In my opinion, delivering clear instructions about self-reflection is enough. Children can know how to make sensible choices on their own. For example, adults can provide persuasive evidence on the negative impacts of drugs during class time, and let children contemplate whether it is good for them to make that move. As a result, they learn the meaning of avoiding drug abuse by nature. To conclude, rectifying misconduct through punishing kids is unnecessary. Adults should apply reasonable methods to assist adolescents in making their own decisions. Therefore, they are doing things out of their willingness, not because of being told to.