Some people believe that the government should financially support retired people. Others think they should care for themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals think that the state should allocate money to elderly people, while others claim that they should take care of themselves. I support those people who feel that old people should get financial support from the government. This essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, some people believe that senior citizens should be provided financial backing by the authorities because old people have already contributed to the development of the country. Many people work in different important spheres, spending their lives helping society to develop. For instance, educators teach students who are the future workforce and doctors treat people. Thus, they dedicate their time and sacrifice their health to their jobs. Therefore, this essay agrees that those people should be rewarded when they get old and cannot work. On the other hand, others point out that elderly people must care for themselves because they should prepare for retirement in advance. This is because individuals, who have worked their whole life and realized their goals, can save money for their living. However, this essay disagrees with this opinion because although old people have extra money to live on, they cannot cover all their expenses. In case retired people get sick, the treatment that is provided by the government is not enough, as sometimes they need to buy expensive medicine to get over. In conclusion, it is advisable to fund old people, since they are the ones who have made contributions to the progress of society. Not everyone succeeds in preparing themselves prior to retirement.