Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A lot of felons return to break the laws after they serve the first sentence. There are multiple factors to this phenomenon, especially the nature of the punishment and life obstacles after jail. This essay will examine the main causes of committing felonies after criminals do their first penalty and possible solutions to this problem. To begin with, there are many causes for the problem of rebreaking laws by former criminals. Firstly, the punishments are not rehabilitating. That is it does not help the felon to fix his wrong behaviour. For example, if someone is caught using drugs, sending him to prison will not solve the mistake. Moreover, it gets worse since he will be in a bad surrounding. Therefore triggers him to escape from the reality by consuming more drugs. Nonetheless, after the offender serve the punishment he will have a record. Hence he will get trouble in getting jobs which in turn affects the quality of living and leads to more crimes. However, there are some possible solutions to this problem. On top of the list, is not to put them in a surrounding full of criminals, instead they must be divided into groups and mix them with coaches to train them on correct moral behaviour. Another solution is to change the nature of the punishments to social duties or useful activities. For instance, obligating criminals to construction work, or training them to learn soft skills will help to get back on life track. Consequently, it provides them with wider opportunities in applying to jobs. To conclude, offenders who servers the punishments most likely will break the laws in future due to a lack of rehabilitation and a good surrounding after jail. However, there are many solutions to help them with not outbreak the law.