In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

There has been a lot of advancement in the agriculture sector over the last decade. Despite this development, many are still suffering from starvation, primarily because of inflation. In this essay, I will examine the causative reason for global hunger and discuss practical measures to tackle this issue. Even after years of research and development in agriculture, starvation still is a major concern worldwide. This is due to the rise in poverty, and inflation in food prices all around the world. Penniless people are unable to afford food, which is a basic necessity, to nourish human life. India, the leading crop producer of the world, for instance, still has countless citizens that are malnourished. If we do not tackle this dire issue immediately, it would result in a higher global hunger index which would further hinder a country’s progress. To combat this undesirable situation, the following measures must be taken into account. People should minimise or eliminate food wastage at parties and big gatherings. Instead, the leftover food should be donated to homeless people. Another strategy would be to introduce large-scale genetically modified crops that are sustainable and cheap. This will have a profound effect on the availability of food to all corners of the globe and thus, plummeting starvation. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, inflation has an adverse effect on the global hunger index, although, with comprehensive strategies and higher investment in developing GM crops by the government and avoiding food wastage on a large scale, we can tackle this issue effectively.